fun facts

English ABC Online readers ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals ABC animals

Choose the animal you want to learn more about!

animal fun facts

Children like learning about wild animals. Our ABC Animals section connects English with kids' interests. Young learners can build vocabulary and develop their reading skills, while at the same time broading their knowledge of animals. There are 26 animal readers. Each of them provides quick information and fun facts about animals including mammals, birds, reptiles, fish and insects. You can also view some interesting animal pictures.

alligator »

Alligators live in America. They are giant, intelligent reptiles directly descended from ancient crocodilians that were alive before the dinosaurs.

bear »

Bears are fast runners, excellent swimmers and good climbers. They may look cute, but this animal is very dangerous!

camel »

Camels are called ships of the desert. They have several adaptations that protect them during sandstorms. They are used for transport, milk, hides and wool.

dolphin »

Altough they live in the water, dolphins are mammals, not fish. They are intelligent, playful creatures, friendly to humans.

elephant »

Elephants are the largest mammals in the world that live on land. They have a gentle personality, and are very sensitive and clever.

fish »

Fish live and breathe in water, have slimy bodies and are cold-blooded. There are many kinds of fish, some have bones, but others only cartilage.

giraffe »

Giraffes, the tallest of the land animals, live in the savannas of Africa. They are well known for their long necks, long legs and spotted patterns..

hippo »

Hippos live in the rivers, lakes and swamps. They are the third largets African animal. Adult hippos have no natural enemy.

insect »

There are over 1 million different known species of insects in the world, and some experts estimate that there might be as many as 10 million!

jellyfish »

Jellyfish have fish in their name, but they are not fish. They live in every ocean in the world, even in freshwater lakes too.

kangaroo »

Kangaroos are the symbol of Australia. They appear on Australian postage stamps, coins, and even on Autstralian planes.

lion »

Lions live in bush, grasslands, savannas and woodlands. The lion is a symbol of power, courage and nobility.

monkey »

There are two types of monkey: the Old World Monkey and the New World Monkey.

newt »

Newts are brightly coloured salamanders. These small amphibians are found in moist, wooded areas in North America, Europe and Asia.

owl »

Owls are mysterious birds. They like lonely places. In many countries the owl is a symbol of wisdom.

penquin »

Penguins are birds, but unlike most birds they are not able to fly. They live in the southern half of the world. Many penguins are not afraid of people.

queen bee »

Honey bees are the only insects that produce a food consumed by humans. Honey is produced in one of the busiest yet most efficient factories in the world - a beehive.

raccoon »

Raccoons are curious, intelligent and often troublesome mammals. They me be found in hollow trees, ground burrows and brush piles.

seal »

Seals are marine mammals. There are lots of kinds of seals. Scientists group them into three main types: true seals, eared seals, and walruses.

tiger »

Tigers are the biggest cats in the world. They live in steamy hot jungles as well as icy cold forests.

unicorn »

Unicorns are one horned mythical creatures that can be associated with all kinds of mythology.

viper »

Vipers are weird creatures. They can move without legs, and can cause sickness or death with a single bite.

whale »

Whales are large, intelligent animals. They are not fish, they are mammals that spend their entire lives in the water.

fox »

Foxes are the smallest member of the dog family.They have characteristics of both dogs and cats, and are nocturnal animals.

yak »

Yaks originate in the Himalayan Mountains, and have been domesticated for about 5000 years.

zebra »

There are three species of Zebra, all native to the African continent. They differ slightly in their stripes, but all have the same general shape.

Fun facts
ABC Animals ABC Animals ABC Animals ABC Animals ABC Animals ABC Animals ABC Animals ABC Animals